Our Team

Associate Director:

We’ll hire a part-time associate director to assist in our efforts. Contact us about this position.

Sara Shipley Hiles

Associate Professor, Executive Director

Hiles manages grant operations. She is an award-winning journalist and journalism educator with almost 30 years’ experience in the field. She specializes in environmental and investigative reporting and is a recognized journalism teacher and editor with a dozen years of teaching experience. She has won awards and recognition for teaching, feature writing, digital journalism and investigative reporting. Hiles also directs the Smith/Patterson Science Journalism Fellowship and Lecture Series and serves on the board of the Society of Environmental Journalists.

Dr. Earnest Perry

Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research

Dr. Perry serves as a project advisor. He served as coordinator of the School’s doctoral teaching program for six years and as chair of journalism studies from 2005-2011 and again during the 2013-14 academic year. He worked for nearly 10 years as a journalist for newspapers in Illinois, Connecticut and Texas. He currently serves as chair of the Publications Committee for the Association on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

Ryan Famuliner

News Director, KBIA; Associate Professor

Famuliner serves as a project advisor. He previously worked as a general assignment reporter and videographer at WNDU-TV in South Bend, Indiana, and as a reporter and anchor at the Missourinet radio network in Jefferson City, Missouri. He’s overseen or contributed to numerous collaborative projects across the Missouri School of Journalism newsrooms, including the short documentary project “My Life, My Town” and partnerships with Vox Magazine and Missouri Business Alert. He’s also overseen KBIA’s participation in numerous external partnerships, including the multi-state, multi-station NPR reporting collaborations Harvest Public Media and Side Effects Public Media. KBIA, under Famuliner’s guidance as news director, also won the General Excellence Award in the Online News Association’s Online Journalism Awards in 2015, and the National Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in 2020.